Meet The Writer: Gary McMahon

7 04 2011

What first attracted you to horror writing?

I was lucky enough to grow up at a time when horror/SF and Fantasy were always on television. My favourite TV shows when I was a boy were Hammer House of Horror, The Tomorrow People, Shadows, Sapphire and Steel etc. It wasn’t unusual to be into this stuff back then. Well, not in my neighbourhood. My mother tells me that even in my pram I would reach out and point to creepy posters and books with garish monsters on the covers. Then I saw the 1977 BBC adaptation of Dracula, starring Louis Jordan as the count, and that just pulled me right into the literature I read Bram Stoker’s novel when I was twelve, and my family would buy me classic ghost story anthologies for birthdays and Christmases. I loved it all, and when I started to get interested in writing it just seemed natural that I write about dark stuff.

Click to read more…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

