Meet The Writer: Zach Black

11 04 2011

What first attracted you to horror writing?

Morbid curiosity I guess.  I found myself drawn to a genre which inspired powerful emotions.

As a teenager, I became interested in the darker aspects of entertainment.  I loved movies like Hellraiser, Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday 13th, I listened to a lot of metal, which typically invoked dark imagery and I obsessively read horror fiction.  The first novel I read all the way through was Stephen King’s Pet Sematary.  To be honest, I was never interested in reading prior to that, but after the first taste of what King had to offer, I consumed his novels one by one until I had exhausted the entire King bibliography.  After that I moved on to other notable authors of the genre; Graham Masterton, Dean Koontz, Shaun Hutson, Richard Laymon and Guy N Smith.

A little later I began to write my own short stories imitating the styles of my favourite authors.  Back then, it was a pretty stormy time in my life and I used my writing as a form of catharsis, pouring my emotions into my work.  I still do.

Click to read more…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

