Meet The Writer: David Moody

13 04 2011

What first attracted you to horror writing?

I guess it was a combination of different things which set me off down this path. Someone somehow managed to slip a copy of The Day of the Triffids into my primary school library, and once I’d read that I became hooked on horror and all things post-apocalyptic. Maybe nine year olds shouldn’t have been reading stuff like that, but I’m glad I did. I quickly developed a fascination for horror, and I used to creep downstairs late at night to watch the old horror double bills which were shown on the BBC – usually the original Universal monster movies with the odd Hammer and Amicus film thrown in for good measure. I grew up in the 1980’s and that was important for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the paranoia about ‘video nasties’ around that time had the opposite effect on me to what the government intended – the fact I couldn’t get to see films like Evil Dead, Night of the Living Dead and The Exorcist meant that I made it my life’s work to get hold of copies and it became an addiction. Second, I was around when the Cold War was at its height, and when you grow up thinking you could be blown to oblivion at any time with just four minutes’ warning, you can’t help but be focused on horror!

Click to read more…

Actions

Information

One response

13 04 2011
Theresa Derwin

My God, it was those Universal Double Bills that first got me into the genre & subsequently Mr Moody. Good memories

Leave a Reply

