Meet The Writer: Kirstyn McDermott

5 07 2011

What first attracted you to horror writing?

I’ve always been a voracious reader and the kinds of stories that have always attracted me have been the darker ones, the ones without a neat, happy ending, the ones that left me troubled for days, if not years, afterwards. So when I started writing these were the kinds of stories that came out. I never made a conscious decision to be a horror writer, and sometimes I do feel my work to be a difficult fit for the genre (My first novel took ages to find a home and the most common reason for rejection was given as, “It’s great but we just don’t know what to do with it.”). Without knowing precisely why, I find myself drawn to darkness.

Click to read more

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

