Meet The Writer: Vincent Kale

4 05 2011

What first attracted you to horror writing?

My love of horror started in other media besides writing. I grew up watching all sorts of horror movies, from the Boris Karloff and Lon Chaney, Jr. classics to the slashers of the 70s and 80s and everything in between. I became a huge fan of TV shows like Tales From the Crypt and Are You Afraid of the Dark? As a kid growing up in the 80s and 90s, it was great to have contemporary horror for my age range, but it was even better to be able to access the more forbidden, adult material (I have to thank, or blame, my parents for that). As for horror writing, I read a lot of my Dad’s Stephen King novels, but what I really latched on to was the Goosebumpsseries by R. L. Stine. They were great stories that you could mow through in a weekend and still get the chills. As I got older, I appreciated the accessibility of the horror I loved as a kid mixed with the mature themes of the more adult stories. After I’d written my first novel (not a horror story), it just kind of clicked. I thought, “I love horror. I know horror. I can do this.”

Click to read more…


Actions

Information

Leave a comment